Proxy setting for Linux commands

Linux is my favorite platform where I have to do things by own and it has do much learning curve. Few days back, I am back on platform which I love most, LINUX! Yahhhh!

Now story of my learning, my office network is running on proxy setting and I have to use my two favorite commands “wget” and “yum” for downloading files and installing applications. Both configuration files are located in different location. Command “wget” configuration file located on path “/etc/wgetrc” and command “yum” configuration file located on path “/etc/yum.conf”.

Following parameters have to add in configuration file respectively for proxy setting.

“wget” command configuration file path “/etc/wgetrc” and configuration parameters are,

http_proxy=http://292.68.20.10:8080/
proxy_user=omer
proxy_password=myPublicPassword

“yum” command configuration file path “/etc/yum.conf” and configuration parameters are,

proxy=http://292.68.20.10:8080/
proxy_username=omer
proxy_password=myPublicPassword

Above configurations are working and verified on Linux distribution Fedora 18.

Leave a Reply

